Tambov, famous for the well-known Tambov wolf, actually has something else to enchant tourists. The city is full of ancient sights that have been perfectly preserved to this day - miraculously, all wars and fires bypassed the Old Center of Tambov.
Tambov boasts many architectural landmarks, of which several ancient temples stand out.
One of the most famous Tambov religious buildings is the Ascension Cathedral, located on the territory of the Ascension Monastery of the 17th century. The cathedral itself was built a little later - at the end of the 18th century. The temple is very unusual and colorful, with its appearance it a little resembles a fairytale tower, and its bright 70-meter bell tower attracts attention. By the way, the gilded dome on the bell tower appeared quite recently - in 2012.
No less popular among tourists is the Holy Trinity Church, located on the street. K. Marx. In 1642, a wooden church was built on the site where the temple is now located. And the building acquired its stone appearance in 1771. Unfortunately, later the temple was badly damaged in a fire, therefore in the 1840s. construction began again. The new stone church turned out to be very beautiful, in many respects preserving the style of national architecture. The temple was adorned with five magnificent domes. Unfortunately, during the times of the Soviet Union, the temple suffered a new misfortune - like many others, it was closed and completely dismantled. And only in 2008, using historical records, they tried to recreate the temple.
Tambov - other architectural landmarks of the city:
One of the most informative museums in the city is the Kirsanovsky Museum of Local Lore, located in an unsightly 19th century building. The museum was opened back in 1923, and since then it has collected an extensive collection of photographs and historical exhibits that tell about the rich history of the city.
The Aseevs Estate museum complex is unusually beautiful. As a branch of Peterhof, the estate shows the external and internal appearance of the old palace. Here you will see Aseev's office, reception, grand dining room, white hall, entrance hall, sofa, boudoir and men's room. Wandering through the rooms and corridors of the museum is a sheer pleasure.
There are many more unique and fascinating museums in Tambov:
Judging by the large number of various monuments, the local people respect both their history and outstanding people. Probably one of the most popular places for tourists in Tambov is the monument to the famous Tambov wolf. There are now two such monuments in Tambov at once: one of them flaunts on Rasskazovsky highway at the entrance to the city, the second - on the territory of the "Hotel". The "Rasskazovsky" wolf is made from the trunk of a huge oak, which is more than 200 years old. His figure rises 3 meters and looks very harmonious against the background of the forest. An unknown proverb "Tambov wolf is your comrade" is carved into the wolf's paws. The second monument expresses the good-natured nature of the city symbol. The wolf figure, peacefully lying on the mountain, breathes with calmness, good nature and hospitality. A slightly different phrase is cut here: “When you give people joy, the Tambov wolf is your comrade!”
The political task of Catherine's reforms was to establish public order in the country in its European understanding, relying on self-government bodies and civic consciousness. The new system of provincial cities was to be embodied in their newest appearance - in the spatial and architectural order, expressed in the geometric correctness (regularity) of the international style of classicism, in contrast to the previously existing picturesque structure, which began to be perceived as a mess.
New city plans were commissioned to develop the Commission of Stone Buildings. It was created in 1762 for the reorganization of St. Petersburg and Moscow, but after the government decree of 1763 "On making special plans for all cities, their buildings and streets, for each province separately", its program was expanded to design all Russian populated areas. The scope of the Commission, which worked until 1796, was notable for its grandeur - it developed 305 master plans.
The first plan for the reconstruction of the provincial city was created for Tver, which was damaged by a fire in 1763. He became exemplary in drawing up master plans for other cities. The explanatory note to the plan of Tver spoke about the educational role of the town-planning order - that regularity contributes to the "public benefit", "to encourage residents to work and work." The principles themselves were told: “... the regularity offered during the construction of the city requires that the streets be wide and straight, the squares are large, public buildings in suitable places, etc., all houses that are in one street must be built on the whole street on both sides , right up to the dissection of another street with a solid facade. "
In the development of master plans, redevelopment and urban development, the fundamental idea of classicism about the inseparability of "benefit and beauty" was applied.
The general plan of Tambov was approved on December 9, 1781 by Catherine II, who inscribed on it: "Therefore, be." The urban planning document was aimed at clearing the urban space of old, random buildings, freely located, and creating an orderly grid-structure with geometrically regular blocks of houses and straight streets.
In 1781, Governor-General Roman Illarionovich Vorontsov invited to Tambov from St. Petersburg to the newly opened post of provincial architect Vasily Antonovich Usachev, who came from the "soldier's children", the collegiate registrar, who became the coordinator of the implementation of Tambov's urban planning plan. The streets of the city center were based on the old roads that formed around the fortifications of the fortress, erected in 1636 under the governor Roman Boborykin.
Spaso-Preobrazhensky Cathedral (laid down and built in 1694 in two floors; vaults and domes - 1799) - the oldest historical building in Tambov
The "oldest" building in Tambov today is the stone Cathedral of the Transfiguration of the Savior, which began to be erected in 1694 under the second bishop of Tambov, Pitirim. In one summer, the walls of the church building grew to a height of two floors, but in connection with the Azov campaigns of Peter I, the completion of the construction was postponed, and after the abolition of the diocese in 1701, it dragged on for a whole century. The central axis of the foundation of the cathedral now does not fit into the regular plan of the central part of Tambov, recalling the initial originality of the space of the fortified city. In the late 1780s, the stone cathedral was unsuccessfully completed with an eight-dome, so in 1799 the superstructure was dismantled, crowning the building with the traditional five-domed.
The Transfiguration Cathedral in Tambov. Photo 2007
The third century over the valuable temple of the cover of the Most Holy Virgin. Like the cathedral, he is focused on the northeast altar. The stone church was erected in 1768, instead of a burnt, wooden. It is known that the fire happened exactly 100 years ago - January 13, 1763.
The history of everyday life: agrarian tourism in Russia and abroad (from antiquity to the present day) Abstract The article is devoted to the history and formation of agritourism abroad and in Russia. Author